Review: Rapid CrossFit

The first time I ever heard of Rapid CrossFit was when I saw a sleek, sign-written Rapid CrossFit vehicle cruising around the North Shore, nowhere near the actual location of the box.  It stuck in my mind as I hadn’t yet seen many sign-written CrossFit vehicles around, and I was excited by the expansion of the sport in New Zealand.  I then happened to be temping in a new office and found out that one of the guys did CrossFit and ate paleo.  I quickly sought him out and we were soon sharing stories on work outs, diets and expectations of the upcoming CrossFit Games Open work outs.  Coincidentally, he worked out at Rapid CrossFit and managed to convince me to join him for a 6am session.

I turned up way too early for the 6am class and hanging around a dark, empty rugby park in central Auckland wasn’t quite how I’d wanted to start my day.  Fortunately owner and coach Rob also turned up early, giving us time for a chat before everyone else arrived.  Set up under the Eden Rugby Club clubrooms in Gribblehurst Park, Rapid CrossFit lacks the personal touches and comfortable installations of other boxes (the showers are the old-school rugby club room showers) but the space is open and big.  And this is a good thing considering how big the 6am class ended up being.  The class was probably too big for just the one coach, although clear technique instructions were given before the class.

***********************

The WOD

5×3 High hang snatch

4min AMRAP
15x overhead squat
20x hand release push ups
30x double unders

Rest 1 minute and repeat

***********************

There was a diverse range of athletes at Rapid CrossFit, which I always appreciate.  Young and old, everyone working out together. When a box is able to attract such a range of people I believe this is an indiacation of the philosophy and vibe of the box.  There was also a good range of abilities, with some great snatch technique on show.  The athletes at Rapid CrossFit weren’t overly friendly, however, although they may have been a bit dazed from getting up so early.  All the same, I managed to put myself next to a chatty lady and we probably got a bit behind on our lifting due to all our gossiping (CrossFit related, of course!).

From Rapid CrossFit’s website and Facebook pages it appears that the box has a good community feel to it, with the box participating in various inter-box competitions.  It also runs health and nutrition challenges, as well as CrossFit Kids classes.

Rapid CrossFit’s access to Gribblehurst Park is a huge benefit and I can imagine the box making great use of the space in the summer months.

Drop-in date: 12/04/13

More info: rapidcrossfit.co.nz

About Josinta

I am passionate about travel, CrossFit and writing and have combined all three in my blog - boxjumping. A Level 1 certified CrossFit trainer, I am visiting as many CrossFit boxes as I can during my travels. This has opened many doors - I´ve been to random parts of cities, met awesome people and seen the myriad of ways a CrossFit box can be run. I also CouchSurf - another awesome way to meet locals and end up in areas you never expected. I like hidden corners, local flavours, sitting in a cosy café with my journal, lying on a hot beach with a book. I like flexibility. I like freedom. I like learning about myself, other people, about the world. Life is a journey, they say, but it is also short and full of the unexpected. I am making the most of mine.

Posted on 11/10/2013, in Boxes, New Zealand Boxes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hola Josie, Great report. I support all you have posted and just to say I know you are talking from real personal experience.
    Keep on!

Leave a Reply

