Review: CrossFit New Market

CrossFit New Market is one of those cruisy, fun places, where they don’t seem to care about some of the details that would be very important to others, but they have a good time.

I’d been warmly invited to go and “throw down” a WOD at CrossFit New Market with a friend of a friend and found almost everyone else to be as friendly as her.  People said hi, came over for a chat, to comment on the work out that we were about to sweat through and owner Jason shook my hand when I walked in, although he didn’t stick around for the session.  I loved all the photos and drawings from his kids that he had stuck on his walls.  This added a friendly, family feel to the place.

Lauren, Ben and me at CrossFit New Market

Lauren, Ben and me at CrossFit New Market

Ben, the young coach that was on for our session, was very enthusiastic, fun and knowledgeable.  He came across well and gave some great tips before the strength and WOD portions of the session.  He didn’t move around too much while we were doing the strength work and it would have been hard for him to observe us all from where he was.

I managed to land a session that was well organised with a coordinated warm up and lots of technique coaching.  Apparently it’s not always like this at CrossFit New Market and form and technique aren’t always quite that high on the priority list.  Awkward because…. ummm…. that’s pretty important!

The WOD itself was well-designed and an awesome breathy one for me, just what I felt like!  Running out the front door and straight in to the Domain as part of the WOD was so nice.

The box itself is pretty grungy – painted black with skulls and bones.  This is their vibe, so that’s awesome for them.  The low cieling and pillars throughout the box make it seem pretty small, even though it’s actually a decent size.  It’s dark, dusty and a bit untidy, but it’s in such a good spot!  Up in New Market, backing on to the Domain – having access to a massive park like that is such a bonus as it greatly expands the types of work outs that you can do.

CrossFit New Market is one of the few boxes that offers women-only CrossFit classes.  I know other boxes that resist doing this as it goes against the general “CrossFit model” but no doubt there is a market for this.  They also offer mobility, junior and express sessions.

I was told that I was welcome to return to CrossFit New Market at any time.  I really was made to feel welcome.  Although I wouldn’t necessarily run a box in the way that they do, there is a lot to be said for having fun people and a positive vibe in a box.

More info: crossfitnewmarket.co.nz

CrossFit New Market's back wall

CrossFit New Market’s back wall

 

About Josinta

I am passionate about travel, CrossFit and writing and have combined all three in my blog - boxjumping. A Level 1 certified CrossFit trainer, I am visiting as many CrossFit boxes as I can during my travels. This has opened many doors - I´ve been to random parts of cities, met awesome people and seen the myriad of ways a CrossFit box can be run. I also CouchSurf - another awesome way to meet locals and end up in areas you never expected. I like hidden corners, local flavours, sitting in a cosy café with my journal, lying on a hot beach with a book. I like flexibility. I like freedom. I like learning about myself, other people, about the world. Life is a journey, they say, but it is also short and full of the unexpected. I am making the most of mine.

Posted on 02/10/2013, in Boxes, New Zealand Boxes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

