Review: CrossFit Quattro

CrossFit Quattro is a box of surprises.  Surprise #1:  owner Dave was the youngest box owner I’d seen so far.  I put him in his late 20’s, although CrossFit and working in a gym (as opposed to a stuffy office) might be doing his skin some favours!  He says he’s been working in the fitness industry for 12 years and is honest about being a FFB (Former Fat Boy).  A good way to keep himself real and approachable.  He pulls his age off, coming across as knowledgeable, organised and friendly.  He even welcomed me to the box when the message about me dropping in appeared to have not gotten through.

Surprise #2:  the class was massive, with 16-18 people in the small space, and only one coach on.  It was too much.  As soon as we started the WOD and all needed our own barbells it felt very cramped and we had to figure out where to put ourselves to not smash anyone with a kettlebell.  In addition, it’s pretty hard for a coach to provide close attention to form with a group that size.  Apparently there were a couple of intern coaches on at the same time, but I didn’t actually notice them.  Darren, of CrossFit New  Zealand has made some good comments about managing large class sizes here.

Surprise #3:  At the time, CrossFit Quattro was set up in a school gym’s back room.  This was kind of like the CrossFit Queenstown style of setting up where and how you could, but making it work.  Which Dave did.  The space wasn’t ideal, but I believe CrossFit Quattro has now moved to another location in Ponsonby – an enviable spot so close to the  CBD.

We did a good, thorough warm up, which included a jog outside and some good exercises back inside the box.  I didn’t like that the warm up was timed, but I guess this stops people from messing around, which could happen easily with such a large group.

Dave gave good coaching tips, instructions and demonstrations prior to the strength portion of the work out, setting us up for a good session.  During the WOD itself we received good encouragement and this was another moment where I saw him as a solid coach and leader, and not just a young guy running a gym.

I thought that the CrossFit Quattro website was quite a contrast to the box itself, and I guess that, for me, this was the biggest surprise of all.  The website is very professional and detailed, which was a contrast to the box at the time.   At best, in the new location, CrossFit Quattro will grow and expand to match this.  I know people who go there and absolutely love the place so I’m know that within those walls there is some good stuff going on.

CrossFit Quattro wasn’t the friendliest box I’ve been to and, with no introduction of the random chick to the rest of the class, I thought that perhaps this wasn’t something that was pushed.  Although the cute little dog running around certainly livened things up!  The website, however, strongly promotes community spirit and feel.  With various group photos displayed, it appears that CrossFit Quattro members take part in a range of events and competitions together.

CrossFit Quattro is clearly a box that continues to grow.  With a motivated and friendly owner it has a lot of potential and it will be interesting to see how this box continues to develop in the future.

More info: crossfitquattro.com

About Josinta

I am passionate about travel, CrossFit and writing and have combined all three in my blog - boxjumping. A Level 1 certified CrossFit trainer, I am visiting as many CrossFit boxes as I can during my travels. This has opened many doors - I´ve been to random parts of cities, met awesome people and seen the myriad of ways a CrossFit box can be run. I also CouchSurf - another awesome way to meet locals and end up in areas you never expected. I like hidden corners, local flavours, sitting in a cosy café with my journal, lying on a hot beach with a book. I like flexibility. I like freedom. I like learning about myself, other people, about the world. Life is a journey, they say, but it is also short and full of the unexpected. I am making the most of mine.

Posted on 01/10/2013, in Boxes, New Zealand Boxes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

