Review: CrossFit Infinite

The best thing CrossFit Infinite has going for it is its great location on Barry’s Point Rd in Takapuna, Auckland.  With easy access to the motorways and in the heart of the North Shore, this spot is hard to beat.  But a box location does not make.

Have you ever heard that the tidiness of your bedroom reflects how organised you are as a person?  I’m sure the same goes for the state of a box – messy, dusty, things lying around the place, few personal touches?  This certainly doesn’t reflect the space of an organised person, let alone one that has been cared for with pride.  This is how I saw CrossFit Infinite.  But I also hate leaving the dishes on the bench until the next day.  Each to their own.

The overall size of the CrossFit Infinite box is large, with changing rooms, a kitchen, office and even a play area for kiddies (the only box I’ve seen so far that has one).  Unfortunately, the actual work out area is small which would (should) greatly restrict the number of athletes in a class.  As it was, there were about 10 people in my midday class and there wasn’t much more room to move.

Sly, owner and coach of CrossFit Infinite, appears to have quite a casual approach to his classes, although he answered my drop in request quickly.  He didn’t turn up to the box much before the class, meaning another girl and I had to wait outside for a little bit.  However, he showed me around the box and made me feel welcome to do my own mobility while the other athletes trickled in.

**************************

The WOD

Modified “Fran”

3RFT
10x thrusters
10x pull ups

**************************

The warm up wasn’t particularly robust and this is a pet peeve of mine, something I’ve mentioned before.  This CrossFit Journal article notes why they’re so important.

With no strength portion to the work out this time around we jumped straight into the WOD – a modified version of one of the girls.  My dodgy shoulder was playing up, but Sly was happy for me to scale the WOD as I wanted and gave some encouragement during the WOD.

With the CrossFit Infinite classes lasting just 45 minutes we were in and out of there pretty fast.  Given that most boxes struggle to find time to do sufficient warm ups, cool downs and mobility work on top of strength and WODs I don’t know how CrossFit Inifinite could do it.

On top of regular classes, CrossFit Infinite promotes yoga to avoid injuries and keep mobile which is great.  They also promote the paleo diet and had just run a paleo challenge when I visited.

I’ve commented before that first impressions can be wrong and I’m more than happy to accept that CrossFit Infinite might be a great place to work out.  Hell, people actually go there and there were a couple of impressively strong ladies in the class, so Sly must be doing something right!

Unfortunately I didn’t walk out of CrossFit Infinite wanting to go back.  In fact, this box is an example of why people should shop around when choosing a CrossFit box.  Some people seem to think that the style, coaching and set up is the same at all CrossFit boxes.  Clearly they’re not.  Look around, decide what you like and what’s important to you, and then make a decision.

As for CrossFit Infinite, I’d be interested in knowing what the members like about the box (my mind is always open!).

More info: crossfitinfinite.co.nz.

About Josinta

I am passionate about travel, CrossFit and writing and have combined all three in my blog - boxjumping. A Level 1 certified CrossFit trainer, I am visiting as many CrossFit boxes as I can during my travels. This has opened many doors - I´ve been to random parts of cities, met awesome people and seen the myriad of ways a CrossFit box can be run. I also CouchSurf - another awesome way to meet locals and end up in areas you never expected. I like hidden corners, local flavours, sitting in a cosy café with my journal, lying on a hot beach with a book. I like flexibility. I like freedom. I like learning about myself, other people, about the world. Life is a journey, they say, but it is also short and full of the unexpected. I am making the most of mine.

Posted on 23/09/2013, in Boxes, New Zealand Boxes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

