Review: CrossFit Waikato

The Box

I finished my session at CrossFit Waikato feeling very happy and positive, largely due to the strong “whanau” atmosphere at the box that had made me feel so comfortable and welcome.  This is a box where everyone knows each other, they all seem to get along, crack jokes throughout the session, and even have an “aunty” who they constantly defer to.

CrossFit Waikato

My WOD partners at CrossFit Waikato

Owner Johnny Gillett replied to my drop-in request immediately, greeted me warmly when I turned up after a long drive from Wellington and made time to chat with me while the previous class was finishing.  He asked about my background, fitness and injuries, although there was no filling out of forms.  This is a guy with a history in the sports industry, and it shows, through his ability to relate professionally but comfortably with everyone in his box.

Being Waitangi Day, only two sessions were running and CrossFit Waikato’s small space was packed.  Together with a newbie I was introduced to the rest of the CrossFit Waikato members who were instructed to make us feel welcome.  This attitude put me straight at ease.

The WOD

Strength:
3×3 hang snatch
3×3 power snatch.

AMRAP: 4 mins at each station with partner.
Clean & Press + sit ups.
Burpee pull ups + plank hold.
Wall balls + ball slams.
Farmers walk + rope wobbles.
Sled push + OH plate hold.

Following a warm up that was short for my liking we found ourselves a bit cramped for the strength portion of the session.  We managed to spread out well for the holiday WOD, using the industrial street and drive way, as well as the box itself.  I haven’t managed to land sessions at any other gyms besides MaD CrossFit that have used “different” pieces of equipment, such as sleds and ropes.  In fact, CrossFit Barcelona is the only box I landed in this year of travel that programmed rope climbs.  Not sure why this is. In saying that, I semeed to land cleans at nearly every box I went to, so the programming seems to be linked to my luck!

The WOD at CrossFit Waikato was fun and creative.  Working in pairs is always nice, but it’s especially good for meeting people when you’re at a new box.  Things were a bit chaotic but I put this down to the casual nature of the box and the unusually large class size.  I really appreciated Johnny’s enthusiasm and encouragement during what turned out to be a long and hard WOD.

Given the size of Hamilton and the already decent membership, CrossFit Waikato would surely be able to move into a larger space in the near future.  After the class I managed to get a bunch of members and even the dog together for a photo.  For me, this says a lot about the box and the members of CrossFit Waikato.  Yep,I was only there for one session but I felt well-received and would definately return next time I pass through Hamilton.

More info: crossfitwaikato.co.nz

About Josinta

I am passionate about travel, CrossFit and writing and have combined all three in my blog - boxjumping. A Level 1 certified CrossFit trainer, I am visiting as many CrossFit boxes as I can during my travels. This has opened many doors - I´ve been to random parts of cities, met awesome people and seen the myriad of ways a CrossFit box can be run. I also CouchSurf - another awesome way to meet locals and end up in areas you never expected. I like hidden corners, local flavours, sitting in a cosy café with my journal, lying on a hot beach with a book. I like flexibility. I like freedom. I like learning about myself, other people, about the world. Life is a journey, they say, but it is also short and full of the unexpected. I am making the most of mine.

Posted on 27/08/2013, in Boxes, New Zealand Boxes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Jodie. Thank u for the kind comments. We are loving the training and community feel at cfw.
    I will take on board your comments and make sure I get any drop ins to full out a screening form and make the warm ups a little longer.

    • Awesome! Just so you know, I think all of two boxes have asked me to fill out forms. Not sure what legal liability laws exist in NZ?? Hope to see you again one day.

Leave a Reply

