Review: CrossFit Auckland

Mairangi Bay, Auckland, New Zealand
Mairangi Bay Beach

Mairangi Bay Beach, just down the road from CrossFit Auckland

The Box:

Opened in 2008, CrossFit Auckland was one of New Zealand´s first CrossFit boxes.  The box is professionally run by friendly staff.  My initial email was replied to quickly and upon arrival I was asked to fill out a form with all my details, including injuries, which we then discussed.  Surprisingly, a number of boxes will let you just walk in the door with no questions about your physical state.  My information was filed away and subsequently found when I went back for another session a few months later, which I was impressed by.

The class size was quite big, but in the large space and with a good coach this didn´t appear to be a problem.  I was introduced to the other members as a drop-in and a received a warm welcome, and subsequent encouragement during the workout, which I appreciated.

The WOD:

12 days of Christmas, 12 RFT

1. Clean & Jerk 25 kg
2. Deadlift (25kg)
3. Burpees
4. Pull ups
5. Box jumps
6. Wall balls
7. KBS (16kg)
8. Jumping dips
9. Push ups (knees)
10. Back extensions
11. Sit ups
12. Front squats (25kg)

Do 1x C&J; then 2x deadlift and 1x C&J; then 3x burpees, 2x deadlift, 1x C&J etc etc, so that by round 12 you´re doing the 12x front squats and backwards through all the other moves, finishing on the 1x C&J.

A hard WOD but I loved it!

The warm up was a little short for my liking, but we subsequently went through the movements we would be performing in the WOD, ensuring that everyone could execute them properly.  During the WOD, coach David walked around the class, coaching the movements, especially if form was slipping when we were getting tired.  I found him to be encouraging and friendly.  He offered good tips during my workout and ensured that I was putting in 100%.

Owners Alex and Lisa are friendly and made sure I felt welcome to return at any time.  The box is spacious and has good gear, tidied away after the session.  It is well organised, clean and has a reception area selling various products.  It´s location is handy for North Shore locals and the industrial area provides good roads for short runs.

CrossFit Auckland runs a range of classes including group training, oly lifting, Battle PT, Outdoor High Intensity Training, Gymnastics and 30 minute express work outs.  They also run various events, including the Battle of the Fittest at the Big Boys Toys expo.

More info: CrossFitAuckland.com

About Josinta

I am passionate about travel, CrossFit and writing and have combined all three in my blog - boxjumping. A Level 1 certified CrossFit trainer, I am visiting as many CrossFit boxes as I can during my travels. This has opened many doors - I´ve been to random parts of cities, met awesome people and seen the myriad of ways a CrossFit box can be run. I also CouchSurf - another awesome way to meet locals and end up in areas you never expected. I like hidden corners, local flavours, sitting in a cosy café with my journal, lying on a hot beach with a book. I like flexibility. I like freedom. I like learning about myself, other people, about the world. Life is a journey, they say, but it is also short and full of the unexpected. I am making the most of mine.

Posted on 21/07/2013, in Boxes, New Zealand Boxes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

